This is a raw, mixture of stories that will definitely give you something to think about. The 1st tale didn’t grab me as much as I would have hoped, but the 2nd one had the perfect twist and some cringe-worthy moments that made me hungry for more. The Revolver has one of the best opening lines I have ever read, and The Prison Guard added a different perspective that rounded things out very well.

The best 3 stories are what I’m basing this review on. They perfectly illustrate what J.F. Fleming is capable of. His concepts are fresh. The writing is a bit wordy and some of the phrasing could use a little work, but when the lines are on, they are ON!

right-on

Now, pushing aside some mistakes and style issues, I do have to say that the language in here is not for the easily offended. I’m against censorship and herald freedom of speech and authenticity when developing characters, but some of the stories walk a very dangerous line in the realm of believability and cultural understanding.

wtf

I love finding new authors and watching them grow. As a writer, I know how difficult it is to finish, edit, and publish any work. This collection is the 2nd book I’ve read by J.F. Fleming . His debut novel, The Tale of the Murderous Southern Belle, showed promise and I’m intrigued to read the next one.

flemming

There are a few more redundancies and technical flaws to give this 5 stars. I do recommend it though and would put it at 3 & 1/2 stars if they offered ½ star options on amazon and goodreads. That is the true rating I’d offer, but since it’s all solid, I’m bumping this up to 4 stars because I like the overall feel of what the writer is developing, and I imagine the next book will be even better.

