The standard book review is great, but sharing my favorite quotes seem to be the best way to really show people how great a novel is.

Here are the lines from the legendary, Pulitzer Prize winning Cormac McCarthy’s The Road.

-What would you do if I died?

If you died I would want to die too.

So you could be with me?

Yes. So I could be with you.

-He rose and stood tottering in that bare cold autistic dark with his arms outheld for balance while the vestibular calculations in his skull cranked out their reckonings.

-They stood on the far shore of a river and called to him. Tattered gods slouching in their rags across the water.

-All this like some ancient anointing. So be it. Evoke the forms. Where you’ve nothing else construct ceremonies out of thin air and breathe upon them.

-My job is to take care of you. I was appointed to do that by god.I will kill anyone who touches you.

-What he could bear in the waking world he could not by night and he sat awake for fear the dream would return.

-He looked down at the old man. Perhaps he’d turn into a god and they to trees.

-What you put in your head is there forever?

Yes.

-Perhaps in the world’s destruction it would be possible at last to see how it was made.

